Some people think that government should spend more on public services rather than wasting money on arts. To what extent do you agree?

Governments allocate their budget to different sectors according to public necessity. Some people contend that instead of funding arts, they should increase spending on public services. I completely agree with this statement as several improvements can be made in these sectors, leading to a better and uniform lifestyle among citizens. Firstly, it is essential to consider that areas such as healthcare, education, and public transport are not in an ideal state in most countries worldwide. These are the primary needs of the citizens and need to be prioritized over arts. If, for example, the focus is shifted towards art, it will unjustly flourish at the expense of human life, which itself is priceless. Moreover, these facilities need maintenance to stay functional, hence, they are worthy of this expenditure. Furthermore, all classes of society share such services. When the administration spends more towards a common benefit, it promotes equality and, therefore, curbs resentment. For example, disparity is evident in the accessibility of modes of transportation and quality of treatments in terms of social status. To alleviate this, it is necessary to stop wasting money on the arts. Nevertheless, art is a means of expression at individual and national levels. It preserves and promotes culture, which is why it deserves funding too. This, in turn, might assist young artists in continuing work and not falling prey to the economy. Despite the importance of arts mentioned above, I believe that public services require more attention and finances. This shift will benefit the community in general and address the socio-economic clash.