Recently, teenagers have not been following rules and their parents’ advice. Is this good or bad

Nowadays, an increasing proportion of adolescents are failing to follow the suggestions of their parents, and some youngsters are even ignoring their parents altogether. Some people claim that this is an unfortunate development as it is a sign of disobedience. However, this essay argues that this development is not necessarily a negative phenomenon, but can be positive as well. On the one hand, as children transform into young adults, they develop a greater sense of maturity in their thinking and naturally feel the desire to express their true thoughts and emotions. This desire to make their voices heard typically relates to the more significant issues in their lives relating to careers, friendships, relationships, and so forth. For instance, adolescents are often keen to make independent decisions about the friends that they want to make in their lives and often resent being told by their mother or father who they should or should not spend time with. As a result, parents should be conscious of the fact that as their children grow and become more mature, it is natural for them to want to take greater ownership of the decisions that affect their lives. Nevertheless, by ignoring their parents ’ perspectives on major issues, teens could actually be putting themselves at a disadvantage. This is because their parents have a lot more life experience, which teenagers can learn from in order to make more effective decisions in their own lives. To illustrate, it is definitely a positive sign when teenagers decide for themselves who they wish to associate with, but their parents can also advise them to focus on important values such as honesty, empathy, and kindness when choosing friends. Consequently, by following their parents ’ guidance, adolescents can make more informed choices about important life decisions, especially when it comes to developing friendships. In conclusion, even though teenagers in the modern world are paying much less attention to their parents, this is not necessarily a cause for major concern. In today’s world, it is natural for adolescents to seek greater independence in their decision making. However, teens should not automatically reject their parents ’ suggestions because parental advice can be greatly beneficial for their future lives.