In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Obesity which was a rare sight in the past has been becoming more of a common sight nowadays in some parts of the world and their health condition and fitness are falling day after day. There are several root causes related to this issue including hectic lifestyle and lack of awareness of the effects of unhealthy foods. Despite the fact that some would argue that the situation will correct itself over time, in my view, there is much that can be done to address the problem constructively. One of the most important reasons why the prevalence of obesity has been soaring these days is due to people's busy way of life. This means that people's busy lifestyle forced them to depend on fast foods which are less time-consuming rather than cooking meals at home. To illustrate, although these ready-to-eat meals are more convenient, they are consisted of high cholesterol, which might lead to overweight and diabetes. Moreover, the population are not aware of the high level of fat, sugar and salt in processed meals and their adverse consequences on their well-being. Taking my personal life as an example, when I go to a grocery store to buy junk foods, I would never pay attention to the ingredient label on the food products. To solve this trend toward unhealthy diets, which results in the high prevalence of overweight and other serious health diseases, governments play an indispensable role. In other words, governments need to raise awareness in the general public by conducting educative campaigns. To be precise, some productive campaigns should be run by authorities to teach the population about the importance of a healthy diet including fresh vegetables and fruits and with the help of these campaigns, people should be taught to be attentive to excessive consumption of fast foods and their predicaments on their bodies. In conclusion, It is true that the problem of obesity and detrimental health conditions because of the hectic way of life and unawareness of society will probably not be solved quickly. However, this is not a reason to avoid taking action. Governments can encourage changes in diets by organising educative campaigns about healthier diets and the harmful impacts of fast foods.