Many people think that painting and music do not directly improve the quality of people. Therefore, government should not spend too much money on artistic projects. Do you agree or disagree?

Despite that a great deal of progress has been achieved in the fields of fine arts and music, their importance in raising people’s living standards has been questioned by some, and they insist that the government budget should be restricted to these two fields. From my perspective, this view is hard to persuade. The role of the arts has long been underestimated. Those who believe that they are of no significance to the well-being of citizens have ignored the spiritual aspects of people’s lives. While it is true that the material parts are mainly pushed ahead by advances in sci-tech areas, folks in either traditional or modern society link much of their happiness closely with the arts we have created for millenniums. Ancient people in the East and West, for instance, decorated their houses with paintings made in ink or oil, in which they either embed their wishes for a better life or satisfy their pursuit of beauty. Modern ones relax by attending concerts where the melody from Mozart has been played over and over again. It is undoubted that, therefore, fine arts and music also play a necessary role in people’s well-being and happiness. Due to the pivotal function of visual and audible art, the government should help develop them by allocating an adequate fiscal budget. Financial aid, in today’s world, is inevitable and indispensable for artistic projects that might otherwise find it hard to survive and thrive. Our society has already put too much attention on programmes concerning scientific or technological innovations, leaving relatively few resources available for the artistic ones. State-owned artistic programmes have to wait, often for a long time, until they can receive the budget to operate; non-governmental or individual projects have to grow on more barren land, especially for smaller groups. These organisations lack effective ways to earn money in the competitive market where their rivals always outnumber the potential buyers, and thus the funding from the authority is what they desperately demand. In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the opinion that art forms such as painting and music do not deserve recognition and enough financial assistance, for they matter a lot to improve people’s spiritual life and they would struggle to survive without government support.