Nowadays, many people rely on online sources for news and information. Is this a positive or negative development?

There is considerable disagreement over whether relying on online information is beneficial or harmful. From my perspective,I believe that relying on online information has more negative effects on people. One benefit of relying on online information is that it can help people obtain a huge amount of information quickly and respond rapidly. With just a smartphone, people can gain first-hand information from online, which helps them understand what is happening around the world. Especially for business people, knowing the latest market trends can help them make better and timely decisions However, there are also some downsides. The main disadvantage of relying on online information is that it can cause conflicts between people who hold different views, even among friends and family members. This is because online platforms usually recommend information based on users’ reading preferences. As a result, people tend to receive only the information they like, which may cause them to fall into an “ information cocoon”, making their thinking more extreme and narrow. Another disadvantage of relying on online information is that it can mislead readers. To be specific, some individuals publish fake news in order to attract attention. Such misinformation may cause readers to make incorrect judgments. In addition, some content may spread negative ideas that are harmful to social order and public morality In conclusion, although relying on online information allows people to obtain information and respond quickly, I still believe that it has negative effects because it may cause conflicts between people with different views and mislead readers.