Nowadays, news companies spend a lot of money covering international news. However, local news is more relevant to people’s lives and should receive more funding. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today's day of age, media companies are headed in the new direction of publishing international news whilst local broadcast is being less funded though it is thought more beneficial to the public's lives. I strongly agreed that announcements locally should not only receive more reach and funding but also advocate the relevance to people. With the development of our technology, viewers worldwide now are more demanding than ever. For example, information regarding politics, finances, and culture around the world is receiving heaps of attention from viewers because they wanted to be connected to the world. This is why news corporations are funnelling funding into international broadcasting and less on local news Conversely, local information that is broadcasted is more updated and precise depending on the subject, which would benefit the viewers in changing their actions timely. For instance, if there was a tsunami happening in the area, the local news would be the first official broadcaster and being adamant in receiving this information could help the community be safe and could prevent a lot of casualties. But also if local information is to be spread out more easily and reach the local community, more funding and advocacy have to be conducted. In conclusion, info locally ought to receive more interest in terms of capital and advocacy to increase the reach of society and help them see the relevance in their daily lives.