These days people are living in their 90s and beyond. As a result, there is increasing concern about care of the elderly. Do you think it is the responsiblity of the family to take care of their elderly member or should the government be held responsible?

Nowadays, people are living into their 90s and more, and as a result, there is increasing concern about who should be responsible to take care of senior citizens. In my opinion, I think that the government and the family are responsible to take care of older people. On the one hand, the family is responsible to take care of their elderly members because they know everything about the person in the family. In other words, the family members have enough information about them because they have been with them for a long time, and therefore, if their old family member faces any difficulties, they know how to handle the problem easily. For example, if the old person has diabetes and feels bad the family members will be around him and give him the right medication and monitor his food intake. On the other hand, the government has to be responsible because they have all the needs of old people to look after them and have educated doctors and nurses who have the knowledge and experience to take care of any of the senior citizens. Nowadays the government in many countries has set up places such as nursing homes which provide services to take care of old people and provide their needs whether they need food or health care. Moreover, residential homes provide activities to enhance mental activities among senior citizens especially those who suffer from Alzheimer's. To conclude, I once again reaffirm my position that both family members and the government are accountable to look after the old people. If the government and the family always take care of old people, they will help them to live longer.