Some people think that it is a waste of time for high school students to study literature, such as novels and poems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, there has been a common belief among some individuals claiming that for graduate students, being educated in subjective majors like novels or poems is no more than wasting their time. While I personally support this notion, there are some points to consider, which I'm going to examine in the forthcoming paragraphs. On the one hand, studying literature prevents one from mastering crucial skills that can serve them well in adult life. For instance, acquiring knowledge on money management aids in controlling and spending one's assets wisely without facing any budgetary challenges. Thus, disposing of the money flow and directing it to more beneficial sources deters one from spending it on inadequate returns. Moreover, allocating less time for literature would make it possible for students to explore their true passion. This could be achieved through participating in various classes, which enable them to see their strengths and weaknesses and then decide which endeavour to pursue. Consequently, it brings fulfilment and happiness to their lives. On the other hand, abandoning literature can result in poor performance in critical and creative thinking abilities. The more a person reads,the more information he possesses, leading to an increased pace in processing complex data and situations. To put it in other words, in order to have a decent ability to think outside the box, students need to broaden their minds beyond materialistic and scientific views. Therefore, taking lessons about famous writers such as Shakespeare will enrich one's mind in terms of psychological and social perspectives. In conclusion, it seems true that studying subjects like literature gives students a hand to broaden their horizons and enhance their critical and creative skills, but the reality of the situation is more complicated. Perhaps we all should strive to do the best we can and find a realm to which we can fully commit ourselves.