In many countries, the number of people suffering from stress is increasing. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to tackle it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many parts of the world, stress is becoming increasingly common among the population. This essay will explain the main causes of this phenomenon, such as increased work pressure and time spent on the roads, and will propose viable solutions, including implementing work -life balance and a policy to reduce the use of private vehicles. One major trigger of stress is the work pressure from the workplace. This is because most workers have a significant number of responsibilities that they have to bear and must be finished by a tight deadline. Furthermore, the pressure does not only stem from their main job, but also from external factors such as the competition with other employees to secure positions. In addition, after completing their work, most also got stuck in a traffic jam for long hours. This will contribute to an increasing stress level, as they are already tired but still need to experience the burdensome event. For instance, many workforces in South Jakarta, a region with most frequent traffic congestion in Jakarta, worked overtime and still had to spend around two to three hours on the road. This condition leads to an increasing number of individuals suffering from poor mental and physical health. To address the work -related issue, the government should introduce a policy requiring all corporations to implement work -life balance arrangements. This includes regulating the proper working hours in a day and imposing fines on corporations that violate the law. Moreover, to reduce the duration that individuals spend on the road, the government should enforce a law limiting the private cars in certain business district areas. Both interventions done by the government will help decrease the people's stress rate and, in the long run, will enhance individuals' overall well-being and life quality. In conclusion, the upward trend of people, especially workers, experiencing stress is mainly caused by the pressure at work and the long duration spent on the road. Those complex causes can be tackled by the government enacting policies on work -life balance and limiting the use of private vehicles.