It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Having a gap year after completion of school is becoming more popular before joining a university. A year off is beneficial to prepare for any competitive exams and to pursue hobbies but there are also drawbacks to be taken into account. Firstly, one benefit of taking a year off is that students can prepare for an entrance or a competitive exam. This also helps them to get into top-tier universities which can lead to a bright future. Secondly, taking some time to decide on the right subjects is critical because in this gap year students can decide in which fields they have an interest by exploring the outside world. Many youngsters, for instance, try to study some short-term courses before enrolling into a full three or four year degree as this makes them sure about their interests. Thirdly, students can pursue hobbies and convert a hobby into a side hustle. A gap year can benefit in pursuing a hobby full time which may become the main source of income or side hustle for them. This money can be used as funding for their higher studies. On the other hand, one problem when youngsters take a gap year is that they may feel left out and hence they may feel depressed. For example, when peers from their school get into universities students may feel that they are not doing anything productive which can create anxiety. Another possible issue is that students lose passion in studying after a gap in studies. Studying continuously is important for maintaining the interest and habit to study. As education is key to a successful future. In conclusion, while youngsters can benefit from a gap period, it can also lead to feeling left out and losing enthusiasm for studying.