Technologies have changed the way children spend their free time. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the developing world nowadays, children have changed the way that they consume their leisure time thanks to the development of technologies. I believe that the advantages are overshadowed by the disadvantages for teenagers. On the one hand, there are many reasons why people believe that technologies bring various benefits to their young generation. First, children can easily access to beneficial information about news or entertainment in order to gain more knowledge and broaden their horizons of the world surrounding them through the Internet. Second, they can learn new things wherever or whenever they like via some useful apps by using modern devices such as smartphones or laptops. For instance, if they want to study new languages, they can use Duolingo as a helpful app to learn about grammar, pronunciation, or vocabulary. On the other hand, technologies bring many significant drawbacks in youngsters’ lives. Too much screen time can have detrimental impacts on children such as unhealthy lifestyle, low development of physical and mental health, or soft skills like face-to-face communication and problem solving. In addition, when theythe prefer playing games or watching entertainment on telephones or TVs, they can lose their passion on reading books or even playing sports in reality, resulting in some health- and education-related problems such as cardiovascular disease or getting bored and poor grades in studying as well as exams. To demonstrate, the escalating rate of obese children has always been higher than that of healthy ones in recent years. In conclusion, although children can reap many benefits about education from technologies to develop their brains, there are too many disadvantages on health and studies. Thus, children should strike a balance in their lives to use technology more effectively.