More and more people are finding it increasingly important to wear fashionable clothes. Is this attitude to wearing clothes a positive or negation development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.Write at least 250 words.

These days there is a growing trend of wearing fashionable clothes among people. More and more individuals prefer to wear trending clothes, instead of opting for sustainable options. In my point of view, it is a negative development. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons supporting my stand. To begin, following fashion trends has huge environmental impacts. Since fashion keeps on changing, we keep on buying new ones to stay up to date. When we incessantly make these purchases, we discard the old ones, as they fashion out. This is creating a new waste problem for clothes, like we have for plastic. Another reason fast fashion has an impact on the climate is the amount of resources that go into manufacturing these clothes. Due to high demand, customers do not consider these consequences and pay any amount to protect their status in society. To capture this huge market potential, fast fashion companies like H&M and Zara keep on producing in large volumes. Another negative impact of following these trends is that people tend to lose their identity when they buy something, based on how it looks to others. Clothes bring a sense of individuality and a purchase should be made based on what looks good on them rather than on others. By understanding this, one can know their own sense of style, which can make them feel more confident. For instance, if wearing a pair of jeans looks good and feels more comfortable than a trending piece of a skirt, then preference should be given to the former. To conclude, buying clothes based on trends has negative impacts, that can be seen at an individual as well as at a macro level. People should be more aware of the choices they are making and prefer more sustainable options which bring out the personality they have, rather than being a part of the social stereotypes that are created by commercial companies to make high profits.