The responsibility of preventing and reducing global environmental damage lies in the hands of politicians and individuals have little impact. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Both politicians and individuals are responsible for protecting the environment and curbing damages. While some argue that politicians and mankind make no difference in constructing a friendly- environment, I totally disagree with this stance and assert that both governments and individuals contribute largely to preserving the environment. Incorrectly seeing short-term profits and results, proponents of politicians and persons having tiny contributions are short-sighted. Doubtless, repairing an ecosystem that has been destroyed is a perennial process, so humans need to have enough patience to implement actions step by step. This way, effective results will sooner appear. Huge impacts are made by officeholders. Firstly, large infrastructural changes needed for significant environmental impact can mostly be overseen and funded by governments. For example, research on finding alternative sources of fresh water is urgent since the grave water scarcity. Both glacial water and desalinated slat water hold huge potential as vast sources of water, however, these techniques are too expensive to allocate, so only official institutions and wealthy men can afford them. Moreover, governments can release reasonable policies and regulations, constraining actions that instill large contamination to the environment and offering incentives to ecosystem-friendly shops like reducing taxation. Individuals also contribute to constructing the environment. Firstly, uninformed or misinformed about the baneful influence that individuals ’ daily activities injury the ecosystem is the culprit of environmental problems. Individual actions such as reusing or rejecting plastic packing items, shutting down taps quickly and conserving fossil fuels accumulate together and make a significant difference. Furthermore, education and personal responsibility towards the environment can foster a culture of sustainability among the populace. For instance, in China, there are ubiquitous banners saying, green mountains and clear water are gold mountains and pupils in schools are required to recite methods about protecting the environment. In conclusion, not only officeholders but individuals are responsible for being conservationists. Although the result only can be seen in the long-term, they both produce huge contributions from past to present.