Travellers and business people often come into contact with other cultures briefly. What are the main advantages and disadvantages of doing so? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own kowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In our modern society, the development of transportation ways and convenience has been improved a lot. It is more convenient to go abroad than before. Thus, travellers and business people around the world can easily buy an aeroplane ticket and directly fly to other countries. The journey could be very short because of the low cost of transport and the brief arrival time. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this phenomenon. Personally, the main drawback of people being exposed to other cultures briefly, is that they can merely understand specific sides of the cultures without getting to know the deeper sides. This could harm society by creating some misunderstanding through the different habits and talking ways, deteriorating the relationship between residents from different cultures. Subsequently, people who attach to the new culture usually need some time to get used to the environment. Take my American friends as an example, when they first came to Taiwan, they need some time to learn how to use chopsticks. If they had only been to Taiwan for three days, they could not have learned the skill of using chopsticks. By contrast, the prominent benefit is that people can use their time wisely and flexibly. For instance, when Taiwanese residents want to visit Japan, they only need to book a ticket online and spend merely three hours to take a plane. Globalization brings convenience to citizens around the world. Therefore, this situation fulfils the demand of people who just want to experience different cultures on their short holidays. In conclusion, I believe that people who choose to approach different cultures shortly have considered whole situations and have prepared to face all consequences. They have their personal reasons and are definitely ready to accept all advantages and disadvantages this situation brings.