Some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In general, urban development is an issue that concerns the populace of any major city. Some citizens believe that spending too much financial resources looking after and repairing old buildings is not money well spent, and knocking down old buildings and building modern ones instead would be better. In my opinion, I partly agree with that. First of all, looking after and repairing old buildings requires a lot of financial resources which is not cost effective. Repairing historical buildings is often very costly, especially to repair the buildings in any urban city. For example, It requires a high level of safety and quality during construction, especially with respect to the maintenance of the main structure. Repairing old buildings usually needs a professional team to plan the project then present a proposal. Looking after and repairing old buildings comes at a higher cost than constructing a new modern building. Hence, knocking down old buildings and building modern ones instead is often cost effective. Moreover, knocking down old buildings and building modern ones instead would be helpful to societal development. Most old buildings have 5-10 floors only, and cannot accommodate so many people. These are not using the land area effectively. If they remove the old buildings and build modern skyscrapers this is a much more effective use of the limited space that's available. At the same time the government also resolves the housing problem in this case. Hence, knocking down old buildings and building modern ones instead uses land- resources more productively. However, some voices argue that those old buildings are cultural heritage, and should be protected and repaired. For instance, a lot of British style buildings on Hong Kong Island are repaired and protected as well. Even those of the historical buildings located in the CBD, which do not affect the economic development. In fact, Hong Kong has an ongoing policy of evaluating these historical building and then decide if they should repair and protect these. If the government repaired all of the old buildings, it would waste lots of financial resources. Therefore, a number of rich historical-value buildings are always repaired and protected. In conclusion, some of the old buildings should be repaired and protected according to their historical-value. At the same time, the government should spend the financial and land resources effectively.