Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve gowing trafic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

One of the best ways to alleviate the problems of traffic and pollution is by increasing the price of gasoline. Although this essay agrees with the statement, other possible solutions worth to be considered. To begin with, the government should elevate the cost of petrol to solve growing traffic problems. As we know that the growing number of private vehicles on the road is uncontrollable. In Indonesia, for example, the motorcycle is the most popular vehicle that we can see on the road so it becomes the main factor of traffic congestion. This popularity is because of the affordable price of gasoline for motorcycles. By cutting the gas subsidies for private vehicles, public vehicle users will think twice to use their transportation and they may consider taking public transport because more affordable price. Thus, it may be effective to increase the petrol cost so that the traffic will decrease. In addition, there are two possible measures to solve the aforementioned issue. Firstly, changing vehicle fuels from non-renewable energy to renewable fuels. It is scientifically proven that the main contributing reason for air pollution is petrol fuels from vehicles. An electric vehicle is a possible way to try; it is because this vehicle does not emit gas which is a source of problem pollution. Secondly, increasing the number of public transport is another way to solve traffic issues. The reason why inhabitants prefer to use private vehicles is because they cannot reach public transport. By adding the number of public vehicles and improving the system, I believe that people are willing to use public transport. Overall, to solve the issue of traffic congestion is by increasing the cost of fuel and improving the number of public transportation. Moreover, using renewable fuels for vehicles is worth way to consider to solve pollution issues.