Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Since public transportation such as subway systems have become relatively flourishing and easily accessible nowadays, it is tricky and hardly decisive for the governments to allocate the budget to railways system or roads, from my point of view, I will certainly go along with spending more money on the railways system. Firstly, improving railways constructions can definitely affect the city in good ways, for instance, bring more tourism dollars. if people find it easier to commute everywhere by simply using public transportation, they are more willing to visit the cities in this regard, as we can observe in some megacities like Tokyo, New York and London, the cities mentioned above all possess the comprehensive and multifunctional railways system and subsequently known as tourism-aimed places. On the other hand, completely developed train systems can potentially solve the pollution issue caused by motorbikes and private vehicles to a certain extent, inhabitants will utilize public transportation if it is convenient enough for them, thereby reducing the number of private cars used, hence the carbon emissions will decrease significantly in this process, to cite an example, Taipei, the capital city of Taiwan, possess the greatest MRT system in the country, always remains the outrageous usage rates, it is unimaginable if they do not possess sorts of this system, an considerable amounts of pollutants will be omitted in this process. To put it in a nutshell, public transportation systems have substantial pros such as supporting the tourism industry and reducing carbon footprints, in my personal stance, improving the railways system than roads is undoubtedly beneficial for a region, so I agree that governments ought to allocate more budget in this segment.