Many people around the world use social media to keep in touch with other people and get news event. Do you think the advantages outwwigh the disadvantages?

Advancements in information technology has brought the world extremely close. With the invention of social media applications and video calling systems it is easier for people to communicate with their loved ones and obtain information about the events happening around the globe. Utilization of the social media has both demerits and demerits. Nevertheless, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages which will be discussed in the essay below. To commence with, social media applications like Whatsapp, Facebook and Instagram have proven to be beneficial in the contemporary world. Because of the hectic and busy work schedules, people can interact with their loved ones at their desired time. Furthermore, it helps to maintain and nurture emotional bonds and reduced stress after a busy day at work. Moreover, messaging or video calls saves the hassles of travelling to meet friends or family. For illustration, many people living miles apart from their families have the opportunity to converse with their families daily without the need for travelling. Additionally, many of these websites provide up-to-date news about the events happening in any part of the world in real time. It, thus helps all individuals to upgrade their knowledge at their desired time and location. On the opposite hand, disadvantages of online communication cannot be disregarded. Firstly, talking over video calls lacks the warmth and physical touch required for emotional bonding. Secondly, fraudulent incidences are on the rise recently as social media users talk to many unknown people from other parts of the world, sometimes resulting in being blackmailed for money. Lastly, news posted on websites might always not be true as anyone can manipulate it without challenges. For instance, some people try to spread hate between different religions or castes by posting false news on their social media handles. Hence, it is utmost important for the news to be verified from authentic sources like official websites, newspapers and the TV news channels. In a nutshell, despite the demerits of social media applications, its benefits a valuable to the human race. It is the moral responsibility of each individual to verify the authenticity of the messages and news read on the internet to avoid fraud and scams.