Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, there is a debate about giving the authorities full permission to obtain information on people’s phones, the supporters argue that this is a way to improve risk prediction to protect society, while other populations consider such power will bring the end of privacy and freedom. in my opinion, this approach is acceptable only in very particular situations and that is what we are going to discuss in this essay. On the one hand, the people who support that government must have the right to know people’s phones' data, believe that this access will help law enforcement against terrorist groups, by giving them the insight needed for preventing terrorists attacks and exposing the sleeping terrorist cells, Moreover, this procedure will allow law courts in discovering necessary evidences that solve major crimes like arms dealing and drugs trafficking. For example, in 2019 the Dutch police were able to destroy one of the most dangerous crime organisations in the Netherlands by hacking some of its members' phones. On the other hand, the opposite group, ar saying that such power could be used by dictatorships to control populations and hunt the political opposition. Furthermore, giving the administration full knowledge is going to destroy the fundamental bases of democracy and freedom. For instance, the British government scandal in 2011, when a police officer spied on his ex-girlfriend using police Radio. In my view, although this kind of measure is very effective against terrorists and grand crimes but it should be performed only under high court observation to protect people's privacy and freedom, in conclusion, governments' access to people's phones should be monitored by legal figures.