Some believe that secondary school children should study international news like other subjects in school, while others believe that this is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A group of individuals present a view that international news should be included in the secondary school curriculum, while others believe that it does not have any benefits for them. I strongly agree with the latter opinion. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that teaching international news in secondary schools is nothing but wasting of time which can even lead to some serious problems for students. First of all, the mental effects of bad news on student’s minds should not be underestimated. To elaborate, nowadays most of the news contents are about war, crime, economic recession, inflation, or poverty which none of them are appropriate for school students to be informed of due to the fact it can lead to an increase in anxiety or stress of the students and ruin their calmness. Moreover, this information can be considered a great distraction for children. To more extent, when students are bombarded with a great amount of information, it can decrease their concentration on core courses. Therefore, not only the education’s quality but even their future lives will be affected. On the other hand, another group claims that learning international news at school can be useful for pupils. They insist that they should be aware of what is going on around them from a young age to learn some critical life skills such as problem-solving and critical thinking. However, I do not find it convincing as the deteriorated effects of news on their students ’ minds from this young age overweight its bright sides. In addition, secondary school students are too young; they will have definitely enough time in the future, at a higher level of education, to not only learn about the world’s news but also to interpret it critically. To summarize, while people may vary in their opinions, I think that either psychological effects or distraction of students from their primary course are two convincing reasons to exclude news lessons from the school ’s plan. Moreover, enough time will be available for students to learn about the news when they come to an age and be more prepared to accept, analyze, and understand.