Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for all types of crime. Others feel that the circumstances of an offence should be taken into account when deciding on a punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Any country that aim to be crime free or have fewer crimes should have strict rules for criminal. Mostpeople want punishment should be strict for any kind of crime. They want the law to be strictly followed. On the other hand, some people want that punishment should be decided according to the intensity of the crime. Firstly, there should be a fear of punishment in people who have the negative mind. Because if there is no strict punishment for any crime the rate of crime would rise. For example, if punishment for the thief is three years in the jail. It should be implemented on every person who theft anything whether, it’s a small wallet or a piece of heavy jewelry. It would create a sense of fear and the society will sooner be crime free. Secondly, if punishments will decide on the basis of circumstances, it will cause injustice in the society. People who have more money or influential people by their side, will find a loophole and escape. It will cause many distractions to society. Nobody will have any fear of punishment. Everybody will find a new way to clean chit. However, I believe that punishment should be fixed for any kind of crime. Despite, any of the circumstances the criminal should be punished according to the law. In conclusion, for a society, free of crimes, the law should strictly be implemented. It will help to develop a safer society.