Some argue that patriotism is the primary cause of wars globally. Others feel that it serves to prevent less ethical politicians from running a country and starting wars. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many feel that patriotic feelings do more to foment, rather than prevent, conflicts and potential wars. In my opinion, though patriotism can be a positive force in a nation, it is more likely to serve as the justification for armed conflict. Those who value the benefits of patriotism argue that it is a tool to oppose international interventions. This is most often the case in countries where it is possible for citizens to voice their opinions publicly. A standout example of this would be in the United States as the government is often engaged in unpopular conflicts abroad such as the wars in Vietnam, Iraq, and Afghanistan. Many critics make the argument that the US was originally isolationist and should not now interfere in the affairs of other countries. This appeal to the patriotic roots of the country is persuasive. However, it is more common for politicians to encourage nationalistic feelings to justify foreign wars. There are examples of this from both the modern era and past historical epochs. For instance, in Medieval Europe, there were frequent wars of aggression between France, England, and Spain. The rulers of these countries used both religious and ethnic or nationalistic justifications for either expansion or defensive measures. Over time, patriotism came to be considered a method to distract residents from the domestic situation and motivate them towards a common goal. In conclusion, despite the legitimate potential advantages of patriotism within a country, I feel that it is more likely to serve as a catalyst for international conflict. In fact, individuals have very little overall impact on whether or not their country enters a war.