People who live in big cities often deal with some problems. What are the main problems and how can they be tackled?

Although city life may seem amazing on the surface, it involves its own difficulties. We need to recognize the major problems in big cities and find solutions. Air pollution is one of the main problems in big cities. Unlike in the countryside, in these cities, there are numerous fuel-burning cars and they release tons of exhaust fumes into the air on a daily basis. By penetrating the lungs and bloodstream, polluted air brings about respiratory diseases such as lung cancer and asthma and cardiovascular issues including heart attacks. Millions of city dwellers around the world die prematurely due to these health problems year after year. It can be seen that the need to address air pollution in cities is acute. As a solution, along with imposing a higher tax on petrol, the government can develop public transportation, so more people will use buses, air trains, and subways. This will lead to a drop in the number of car journeys and cleaner air. Expensive housing is another pressing concern in city life. Due mainly to rural-urban migration, the population of cities is on a sharp rise, leading to more and more demand for homes. Unfortunately, land for building purposes in cities is often in short supply, so this growing demand cannot be met. Price hikes in residential properties are therefore a common issue in cities, meaning that several low-income people become homeless and experience hardship. The question here is how the housing crisis can be dealt with. Creating more job and leisure opportunities in the countryside is needed to reduce migration to cities, so the government again should take action to balance the demand for accommodation and the number of houses and apartments available in urban settings. In conclusion, polluted air and housing shortage are among the main concerns in cities. These are likely to remain unsolved unless we manage to curb migration to cities as well as car journeys.