In some countries, criminal trials are shown to the public on television. Do the advantages of this trend overweight the disadvantages?

There is no doubt that television and broadcasting are being used by authorities to convey some significant events throughout the world. Additionally, nationwide television is chosen as a platform for presenting criminal trials to their residents in some countries. Although this application might result in few positive outcomes, I argue that the drawbacks undertake them. Firstly, the appearance of criminals and crime -related figures on television is likely to cause a bad impact on the younger generation. Even though the trials do not contain any violence or unlawful acts, some youngsters believe that being a criminal is something that is found charismatic by their age groups. Therefore, the existence of someone who has committed a crime on TV, keeps a young one's attention to similar acts. On top of that, trials of political crimes have been used as a black propaganda tool by some leaders in history. For example, the broadcasting of the trials for prisoners who had been sentenced for their opposite ideas in Soviet Russia ignited a massive riot in 1984. On the other hand, these programs can be used as educational footage fo r those who had involved in minor crimes. While a rewarding approach can solve more issues of a problematic child who had done a low-level crime, punishment and the presentation of possible negative consequences of a crime might be more useful than the former approach. For instance, Psychological Behaviour Therapist Michael Myers from Leeds University suggests that observation of major crime sentences has decreased the crime rate by%18 of people who are between 19-24 years old in 2020. In conclusion, a live record of a court where has been an undergoing trial for a crime might have been found as an efficient way to prevent crime, however, I believe that any image of a real crime -related scene is not appropriate for many people and does not reflect any useful outcome.