“Prevention is better than cure”. Both research and treatment for the disease are costly and it would be better to invest in preventing the disease. To what extent do you agree?

There is much debate regarding the funding of medicine. It’s true, that both research and medical interventions, such as medications and procedures can be very expensive. Because of this, some argue that money should be spent on prevention only. While preventing disease is important, I largely disagree with this proposal for three reasons. The first is that prevention doesn’t always work. All prevention does is lower the chances of getting sick. For example, a person who exercises regularly, and eats a nutritious diet can still get sick. Even during an epidemic where people are taking measures, a person could still get infected. For instance, last year, I contracted Covid-19 despite the fact that I was following the protocols of prevention. This goes to show that taking preventative measures is not enough. Secondly, there are diseases such as multiple sclerosis, type 1 diabetes, and so forth. These diseases are usually caused by some genetic factor, such as an abnormality or an inherited trait. This means that for many of these diseases, there is no way to prevent them. A schoolmate had type 1 diabetes and every day she had to check her blood sugar and take insulin. All she could do is maintain a healthy lifestyle and diet to ensure that she would never suffer negative consequences of the disease such as a diabetic coma. This is where research plays a vital role. Research makes it possible to treat and hopefully cure diseases, such as the many vaccines that have been developed for Covid-19. And that’s another aspect of the need for research and treatment. Covid-19 is a new virus and microbial organisms are constantly evolving which medical science needs to keep up with so that they do not get out of hand. A good example is bacteria that are resistant to traditional antibiotics. These bacteria have developed defenses that render these medicines ineffective and researchers are looking at ways to work around these. In conclusion, Preventing disease is important, but it is not enough. Research and treatment are both needed. Together, the three make up the foundation of modern medicine and each one supports the other, and removing one will have disastrous effects on the health of many. Thus, it’s important to fund all three aspects.