Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays is much better than it was in the past. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people suppose that becoming older is the worst thing for them, but others seem not to believe it and argue that the elderly in modern days are greater in body and mental health than in the past. From my perspective, I go for the latter, and I will discuss both views in this essay to support my opinion. On the one hand, there are some drawbacks we often see in the elderly. Firstly, in the old age period, they could get some diseases, which might result in a reduction in lifespans and cause a lot of pain to their bodies. For example, Alzheimer's is a brain disease that mainly affects old people and results in the gradual loss of memory, speech, movement and the ability to think clearly. Another reason is that they could suffer from loneliness when they retire because they lose connection with their colleagues and friends while their children and their family members are busy with studying or work. These grandparents might stay alone at home for the whole day, just doing some boring chores, which could negatively impact their emotions and mental health. On the other hand, the quality of life of the elderly nowadays is considered to be much better than before thanks to the advancement in medical services and enhancing connections. Scientific data from Our World Data showed that life expectancy has doubled since the 1990s from 32 years to 71 years in 2021. In addition, more and more clubs such as poetry, swimming, chess, and tai chi clubs where they can socialize and keep their brain active, and organizations like retirement homes, and elderly associations dedicated to the old are established. These groups and associations contribute positively creating much happiness for them, as they could have chances to keep in touch with communities and make some new friends. In conclusion, despite the challenges of ageing, advancements in healthcare and the establishment of social clubs have greatly improved the quality of life for the elderly. With increased life expectancy and enhanced community engagement, the negative impact of ageing seems less significant in the present than in the past.