An increasing number of people are choosing cosmetic surgeries. Why do people have operations to change the way they look? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

More and more people are concerned about their outer image these days, some of whom even go to beauty clinics to alter how their faces or bodies look. There are multiple factors that might drive them to make such decisions, which I believe could be detrimental. In this essay, I will focus on the reasons of this phenomenon before moving on to its effects on both sides. Such beauty chasers might have two primary reasons for making changes to their looks. First off, they may lack confidence in their appearance. For example, it is common for some beauty lovers to complain about their noses being too big or their eyes being too small, even if they are fine. This mindset may facilitate them in changing those parts. Another possible reason is to simply have a normal life. This mainly means the soldiers who have lost a part in the war. Those who have been tremendously wounded need cosmetic methods to fix their look. Despite the fact that such surgery may make people happy and confident, it is harmful most of the time. To begin with, patients may suffer from post-surgery side effects. This is because of the unknown long-term effects of some new technologies, which could be irreversible and take years before emerging. Secondly, those operations may empty their pockets and lower their living standards. Clients may endlessly spend hundreds of thousands on fixing and maintaining their faces, having little budget left for basic needs. Having said that, it is true that such surgery may bring a brighter future for patients such as blind people who would like new eyes installed. In conclusion, the growing number of plastic surgery customers is not a straightforward issue. Perfectionism and medical needs might be the major reasons why people choose to have such operations which may result in sequela and poverty. As far as I am concerned, it is more of a negative tendency than a positive one.