Countries should produce the food that their population eats, and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons, examples to your answer.

It is believed that countries should not spend their money on importing food as much as they can and it is suggested that they should meet their people's food demands by themselves. In my opinion, recent technological advances have abled countries to import their needs cheaper and easier and now it is unnecessary to produce with a high cost to avoid importing. Moreover, there are dozens of food materials that cannot be planted or produced in certain areas based on their climate and by communication, it is highly achievable to have access to all of them. It is crystal clear that importing can cost a fortune for every government however, what can change the fact is the cost of developing an industry and providing raw materials for them. In addition to this, in today's world, goods transportation is much cheaper than before and the materials can be delivered to the destination country as soon as possible. For example, a sauce-producing company in Iran provides their raw material from Italy because they cannot achieve the quality they have. Furthermore, every country has a specific climate which is appropriate for planting certain fruits and vegetables. It is considerably expensive to run a greenhouse and plant demanding raw materials due to the high cost of electricity and CO2 and as a result, countries would rather interact with themselves and provide each other's demands. For instance, every day hundreds of ships transport mango from India to Iran and on the way back, they deliver oranges that are planted in the north of Iran to India. To conclude, I believe although it can be expensive for a government to meet their individual demands for food by importing, the more convenient ways of transportation due to the development of technology and the high cost of expanding industry to provide foods artificially, can result that importing is a more beneficial way to meeting people's food demand.