Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages? One claims that the old population is the government’s challenge while the other thinks that an increase in seniors would enhance the quality of society. In my opinion, I believe the ageing population would bring more value than its drawbacks. On one hand, there will be more laborers with rich experiences and a lower demand for high salaries. Old people are likely to accept their offered job even if they get paid peanuts due to their ageing limitation. Besides that, they have more time to do some meaningful voluntary work compared to young people while they still have a lot of passions to fulfill or things to worry about such as marriage, family, and so on. As a result, it not only benefits businesses but also governments due to a decrease in crime rate, and services for the youth. Additionally, it can also contribute to the government’s ranking with happiness level and life expectancy. On the other hand, possessing the old population would lead to a rise in health issues such as illness, diseases, and so forth. If they stop working, there will not be any taxes on the government’s budget which could affect their spending or subsidies, and they may face a budget deficit. Furthermore, in some countries, governments have to pay for elderly people ’s pensions so it would be a financial burden for them. Nevertheless, it will not be a serious concern anymore when people are aware of saving money or purchasing insurance for their retirement, or they can even stay in a nursing home that is accessible for healthcare services. In conclusion, having more elderly people would create a positive impact on the community and society in general which outweigh the disadvantages.