Some feel that students should not have to take standardized tests in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some feel that students should not have to take standardized tests in school. To what extent do you agree or disagree? It is claimed that standardized tests should not be mandatory for pupils in school. From my perspective, although there are certain arguments that support the usage of these assignments, I firmly consent to the removal of exams altogether. Firstly, advocates for standardized testing believe that these can assist admissions officers in knowing about their applicants’ quality. If everybody takes the same test and gets scored on a standardized measurement, schools can easily compare the ability of different students. However, academic results are just a part of an application, which on its own does not reflect the totality of a person's capability. Spending time on those standardized evaluations may take away time for other practices that can contribute to a student’s whole development such as extracurricular activities, competitions, sports, and so on. In addition, having to pay for testing fees on top of tuition would be a great financial burden for low-income households. Secondly, I hold a strong belief that eliminating standardized exams would leave space for a more holistic approach to recruiting well-rounded students. When they are optional, pupils have the freedom to choose their focus based on their strengths and weaknesses. As a result, students can intentionally direct their time and energy to their specialization and develop a better understanding of their own abilities. It is more beneficial for young people to find passion in the things they are good at rather than wasting time trying to grasp difficult areas of knowledge. For example, if a person is good at practical skills such as baking, drawing, or doing business, they are certainly not willing to spend much time practicing on standardized tests. In other words, these assessments are not adequate methods to examine students ' aptitudes in aspects different from conventional lessons at school. In conclusion, there are many more effective ways to judge a person. Standardized tests should be a choice, but it should not be an obligatory assessment.