The modern mega-city has many problems. What are the main problems facing large cities today? What should be done to alleviate these problems?

The development of mega- city has increased rapidly which is attracted people to come in the hope of finding a new job. It is undoubtedly that the city is the centre of businesses and industrialization which gives more opportunities for a brighter future. In this,essay I shall provide some explanations relating the causes where it leads to the increasing level of pollution as well as traffic conjunction. Mega- city usually become the place with the highest spending due to the consumptive characteristic since the citizens work in the many head offices, thus the economic cycle is more rapid in these places. Therefore, many job seekers come to this city in the hope of having a job, however, some people speculate even though they have no skills. For example, in Jakarta, the capital of Indonesia, from 2005 until 2022 more than half a million people came to Jakarta each year which has made Jakarta overpopulate. This condition affects the raising number of traffic conjunctions in this metropolitan city because of the outnumbered population. In my perspective, the government should make a regulation that encourages businesses to build their office in another city, reducing the centralization of the head office in Jakarta. On the other hand, besides the offices, the industry area is also built surrounding the mega- city which raises the level of pollution such as Co2 resulting by manufacture industries. For example, Tangerang, one of the mega- city city right next door to Jakarta that have hundreds of manufacturing industries. The fact that Jakarta is the most consumptive city in this country makes businessmen build their industry around Jakarta, reducing their transport costs to the major market. Thus, Jakarta is declared to be the most air polluted in Indonesia responsible for the low level of citizen's health conditions. Although this Industry has more profit for the effective distribution cost, they should start to develop in another area, because they can reduce cost from labour cost which is lower in some cities such as Semarang, Surabaya and Batang. In conclusion, the main problem of mega- city overpopulation has to be solved by starting to decentralise business offices as well as the industry areas that have to be built in other cities, lowering urbanization. Starting from now, the government together with businessmen should take this problem seriously, if there is a synergy between both parties, I do believe the problem can be solved.