Most people have forgotten the meaning behind traditional religious festivals, during festival periods, people nowadays only want to enjoy themselves. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people argue that humans no longer remember the original meaning of festivals and that most citizens treat them as opportunities to have fun. While I agree that enjoyment seems to be the priority during festival times, I do not agree that dwellers let their meaning fade away. On the one hand, religious and traditional feasts have certainly become pastimes for celebration. In many countries, Christmas is concerned as a festival period for families to go shopping, give and receive presents and enjoy traditional meals. Therefore, most Christians look forward to Christmas as a holiday pastime, rather than a time to practise religion. Similar behaviour can be seen during non-religious festivals, such as Bonfire Night. Communities associated with this occasion with making fires, watching firework displays and perhaps going to large events in local parks. In other words, entertainment is people's primary goal. On the other hand, I disagree with the idea that the underlying meaning of such festivals has been forgotten. In many nations, children learn in detail about religious reasons for celebrating Christmas, Easter and a variety of anniversaries in other religions. For example, in late December, kids sing the Holy Night song which has a religious content, and they may even perform nativity plays telling the story of Jesus's birth. Families also play a role in passing knowledge of religious festivals ' deeper significance on the next generation. The same is true for festivals that have a historical background such as Bonfire Night or Halloween, in the sense that city-dwellers generally learn the stories behind these occasions at an early age. In conclusion, although people mainly want to enjoy themselves during holidays, I believe that they are still aware of the reasons for these celebrations.