Some governments provide financial assistance for retired, unemployed and disabled citizens. In other countries, families provide support for these people. Discuss both systems and give your opinion about which one you think is better.

All around the world, there are different provisions of monetary help to retirees, unemployed and handicapped residents. In some states, the government provides all funding, while in others it is mainly an individual's and his family's responsibility to bear all expenses including medical bills, old age homes stay and even in case of any emergency. In my opinion, financial aid from the authorities makes a logical and responsible action. However, in this essay, I will discuss both these views and points in support of my belief. Firstly, in almost all nations, a major part of the government finance budget comes from tax collection which is deducted from their citizen's incomes and this tax rule is uniformly applicable to all private as well as government jobs. In countries like Japan and Australia, almost 50% of the income goes into tax which results in very less savings for the future. Nevertheless, these countries also provide back free health care, old age assistance and even free recreational homes to support unemployed and retired people. Therefore, people stay stress-free and do not worry about their future. Nevertheless, in most developing countries, despite good tax collection from public funds, individual families bear all costs and concerns of their members whether retirees, unemployed or disabled. There is always a crisis and tension in this kind of arrangement and so even young earners worry about their retirement future which obviously affects their present health and lifestyle. A report from BBC highlighted the lowest happiness index of such nations as citizens are often worried about expenses. In my belief, a government-aided financial system is the right approach to support citizens who are not earning a regular income such as people who are retired, are not employed and are physically not fit for work. This system allows harmony, and happiness and avoids stress in a society.