Some people believe that it is good to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Other believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many have this notion that the data about research, businesses, and education should be accessible easily because people have the right to know what is going on. In contrast, others argue that some crucial data cannot be published openly. However, In my opinion, sharing details that could damage national security ought to keep secret. On the one hand, the public deserves to be aware of the activities of the labs, businesses and education system. This means knowing the updates on current scientific progress, companies’ activity, and educational facts. This could prevent the harmful practices of science and businesses. For example, one of the renowned companies in my country, Pran-RFL Ltd., was about to launch a drink in 2018 that could harm human kidneys. After revealing the product’s data on the website, the public started to criticise them and protested to stop the production of that beverage. Later, the manufacturer had to remove the item from the market because of public pressure. Therefore, people have this belief that data related to research, businesses, and education should be shared publicly. On the other hand, many have this opinion that specific data, such as government data, should remain confidential. This is because if data about secret government works get published, anyone can easily harm national security. Furthermore, by accessing the data, one can manipulate the data of a country’s infrastructure, like power plants, airports, and ports. For instance, Standard Chartered Bank recently published a report about their internal activities on public demand and from the next day, they were continuously getting cyber attacks from hackers. Hence, I believe that particular data that makes the whole nation’s system vulnerable should remain protected. In conclusion, although people argue that all companies, labs, and institutions should be transparent for the goodness of people. I think specific information that is significant should remain internal, as sharing these publicly could breach countries’ systems and serve as a threat to development.