Some employers think that academic qualifications are more important than life experiences and personal qualities. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative development? 教育

In this day and age, most corporations tend to consider academic qualifications as the crucial part when recruiting new employees. This essay will elaborate on the reasons and whether the overall impact is positive. One possible reason leading to this is people’s academic qualifications can reflect their intelligence. They must have a strong studying ability to reach such educational backgrounds, which is essential to acquire a wide array of job-corresponding skills. As a result, less time is required for them to foster such skills, saving the expenditure for firms. Another reason is that it is more convenient as well as direct to check the educational backgrounds of candidates, as educational backgrounds can be printed on the resumes and checked on the Internet. By contrast, their other aspects like personal qualities and life experiences can only be examined through an internship, costing loads of time for both individuals and companies, which is not suitable. Despite the great convenience and profits has this thought brought to corporations, we cannot ignore its shortcomings. The most obvious drawback is that not all successful people are generalists, and some applicants may only show their talents in particular areas like managing workers and leadership, which fail to be demonstrated by their relatively low academic qualifications, such as Jack Ma, the CEO of Alibaba only has undergraduate education background, but is talented in raising businesses. These kinds of people may not be noticed by the companies, constricting the economic growth of enterprises. In a nutshell, it is indisputable that evaluating a person with his educational background can be convenient, however, specialists will face great challenges in seeking a suitable job under this schedule. And the overall impact of it is absolutely negative.