Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

Villagers at a very high pace have been relocating to cities for a better standard of living all across the globe resulting in fewer dwellers in the villages which is not a positive sign of growth. In order to search for better job prospects, people are moving to urban places which has made these areas more congested than ever. There is undue pressure on the ruling authorities in cities to make a balance between the demand and supply of food, housing, and healthcare system and make these necessities accessible for all residents at affordable prices. For example, Toronto has been experiencing a great increase in dwellers every year, which in turn, the prices of accommodations have sky-rocketed. As a result, inflation is growing exponentially which may adversely affect the spending of individuals, so it is not a viable option of moving to urban areas. Moreover, with the augmented population in metropolitan cities, such places have become more polluted giving rise to global warming. If the number of people is increasing day by day in a city, there would be more traffic on the roads, more industries and more electricity consumption which may release a higher component of carbon footprint in the environment. In such cases, climate change is inevitable. For instance, Canada experienced the highest number of wildfires this summer because of the change in climatic conditions. Hence, relocation from the countryside to urban areas is not an effective method for the development of an economy. To conclude, even though villagers are relocating to cities for the betterment of their lives; in the long run, it is not a viable option for growth both for the economy and for the individuals as it is putting undue pressure on specific pieces of land leading to devastating results.