People believe that the government should financially support retired people, others believe that retired people should care for themselves. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion.

The retirement age in most countries starts at 65 years old. Nowadays, It is argued that retired elderly people, should cover all of their expenses. Although I agree with the other side of the argument, who believes that they must be supported by the government. In this,essay I will discuss both sides and provide my opinion. To begin, It would be reasonable to provide compensation to senior citizens for all their hard work and service throughout their life. Especially if these people have highly contributed to the growth of the economy of the country, such reward must be given to them to enjoy the rest of their years. For example, retired citizens in Australia receive a weekly allowance according to the percentage of their tax contribution when they were still working. I believe this is a fair way to honour their service to the nation. While some people are against the idea that government should allocate a portion of the budget for the ageing community because they tend to consider them as a non-essential priority. Perhaps the officials should focus more on the major problems of the country and allow the elderly to spend their own savings to purchase their necessities. Take the Philippines for instance. A lot of this age group is suffering from poverty and various diseases due to a lack of support from the government. Therefore, many residents work overseas and stay there until retirement age, for future benefits. In conclusion, some portion of the population perceive old residents are no longer important in the community and the government must improve the other aspects of the nation, whilst I am one with the other portion that agrees with the notion that retired elderly deserve to receive their fruit of labour.