Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying with alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Currently, an increasing number of people with health issues are choosing alternative medications and therapies rather than going to their regular doctor. I think this is a negative improvement because it will impact the side effects in our bodies and be prevented by a non-professional person, which I will discuss in this essay. First and foremost, taking alternative medicines without consulting a doctor in advance will affect our health in the future. To be clear, it will cause new complications and side effects in our bodies. As a consequence, our health problems will take a long time to recover, and it will also cost a lot to buy a lot of drugs. Based on my experience, as an example, when I got a cough, I consumed flu medicine in advance without visiting a doctor. Then, when my cough had recovered, however, I got another illness, which was dizziness, and after that, I should have gone to a doctor to consult on my health issues. Moreover, getting treatments from a non-professional person will also impact your health status in the future. It is because they did not get practical training as specialists to prevent illnesses and also did not get an official license to do medical treatments. Because of the experience gained, they are enabled to acquire the same skills as a doctor and perhaps even more patients in specific contexts. For instance, some countries in Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, the Philippines, and Vietnam have ‘Mantri”, who is a health practitioner like a nurse, providing temporary preventive health services in the villages in the midst of the community's demands for primary services. In conclusion, I believe that trying alternative medicines or treatments when we feel sick instead of going to the usual doctor has negative results due to the fact that it will cause new complications and side effects on our health in the future.