Compared to our parent’s generation, life has become much more stressful. As a result, stress-related illnesses are on the increase around the world. Why is stress such a problem in the modern world and what do you think can be done to overcome the problems caused by stress?

In the modern world, despite having more advanced technologies and resources, people are facing more pressure as compared to our previous older generations. There was much peace, satisfaction and harmony in societies and celebrations in families even with no mobile phones and home appliances in older times. Nevertheless, as a result of stressful life, people are suffering from health issues and are not able to live a happy life. This essay will discuss the concerns resulting from the stress and some solutions to the problems caused by it. Firstly, stressful life can result in various concerns not alone at an individual level but also at familial and societal levels. Stress is a predisposing factor for many health issues like hypertension, cardiac diseases, anxiety, depression and other psychological concerns. Stressed people do not give much time to their families and therefore affect other family members and young kids too. According to a report from NDH Hospital, New Delhi, in the year 2021, there was a surge of almost 20% of cases who were admitted with elevated BP after a stressful incident at work. Moreover, it reduces a person's work efficiency and therefore productivity of a company and subsequently affects the economic growth of a country. While people can not go back to old times to bring their happiness, but certainly can make a change to have a peaceful life. It is important to have personal time, family moments and work life separate and should not mix business meetings with friends and family events. Adoption of yoga and meditation is another approach to staying healthy. Furthermore, considering stress as a major concern in the present age, the Indian government in agreement with other nations launched an "International Yoga Day" in 2015, to bring awareness and promotion of personal health.  In conclusion, stressful life has severe implications on well-being and social well-being, however, it can be overcome with the government and independent institutes initiation of mindfulness programs and other measures.