Some people believe that children are given too much freedom. They feel that their time should be used to do more school work. How do you think children should spend their free time?

Many parents have favoured the idea of having their children utilize their free time for studying rather than doing anything else. However, as a student myself, I feel extremely conflicted by this because we should be allowed to spend our recreational hours however we wish. Firstly, the reason why children deserve more freedom than adults is because they are still at their most impressionable age. Being a kid is when they feel the most joy, privilege and creativity. Therefore, they should not fall victim to stress or any negative sign because it could greatly affect their mind; their emotions are incredibly delicate and one wrong signal could set them down on a miserable path. More school work, for example, can potentially bog them down from any positivity, they are constantly worrying and stressing out. Secondly, parents should not be able to dictate how their children want to spend their free time because that is not the parents' decision. the more they attempt to control their kids, the more they will hate them afterwards. The best course of action is to let them inherit a level of freedom and set boundaries to better understand what they want and when it is best to grant them that freedom. Talking to them as a friend is a great instance of communication between both parties, rules can be set through this form of discussion. In conclusion, while it is best for the youths to actively study more, they should possess more flexibility. In their own room to breathe, they should be allowed to express themselves freely.