Films are no longer exclusively produced by big companies. Digital technology has enabled everybody to create their own video(s) and film(s). Is it a positive or a negative development?

The advent of digital technology has empowered the public to make quality movies, so film production is not solely produced by large firms, The discussion of whether this is a positive outcome, due to, reduced cost of production or a negative development, because it removes uniqueness from films has sparked a substantial debate. Analyzing these facts will give a comprehensive overview of this subject matter. On the one hand, the total budget for making a movie has been reduced significantly since most of the sets are arranged and shot inside the studio. For instance, Marvel studio disclosed that the original budget of Aquaman was slashed in half when it opted for studio production, hence saving money for trips and hotel plans. Clearly, this could not be achieved without the use of new technology, therefore reason this is a positive outcome. However, this has rendered originality obsolete since films now lack natural backgrounds. For example, Dune part 2 would have been an amazing movie but critics and rotting tomato criticized it, as it was not produced in real dessert. It is now struggling to recoup the investment funds in the US box office. Obviously, this simulated environment affects the uniqueness of the production, thus one of the reasons this is a negative development. In conclusion, nowadays movie production is not solely reserved for the giant movie firms. However, smaller companies can now produce quality films with the help of digital technology. The question surrounding whether this is beneficial, as it promotes cheaper production costs or a drawback because it removes the originality from the production, has prompted a considerable dispute. Examining both sides of this discussion has given it an extensive understanding of this topic.