Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people , however, think that other types of progress are equally imporant for a country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Driven by economic development, many counties have made significant progress, which, thus, is given top priority by a great number of governments. However, opponents argue that it is necessary to place the same emphasis on other developments. From my perspective, I am in favour of the latter, believing that there are more achievements that should be brought into our society. On the one hand, economic growth plays a crucial role in a nation, which can not only improve the people’s living standard by creating job opportunities and upgrading infrastructure but make citizens feel happy and satisfied. To begin with, it is unable to meet people’s needs without growing the local economy. For example, if most folks are unemployed in a country, it may cause instability and chaos as some of them would make a living from crimes, such as robbery, theft, etc. As a result, citizens would struggle to source food and shelter, instead of other pursuits. Furthermore, it is impossible for those who lack necessities to satisfy their lives, which in turn would deprive them of pursuing other goals. On the other hand, the booming economy is not the only benchmark for social development. Living in a diversified world, there are many pursuits ahead of us when necessary needs are met. First of all, medical service should be improved, thus alleviating suffering and pains for folks, which requires governments to invest more funds and effort into scientific fields. In addition, advancements in environmental protection can guarantee that human beings live in a sustainable manner. Much as governments should make an effort to achieve economic success, feasible measures should be taken to address environmental devastation in case it is too late to save the world for future generations. In conclusion, under no circumstance should we pay less attention to fueling economic growth, other improvements should also be taken into consideration, thereby making the society more harmonious and multicultural rather than money-driven.