Global warming is one of the biggest threats to our environment. What causes global warming? What solutions are there to this problem?

Recently we have ever heard that the ice in the Arctic and Antarctica has been melting and sea levels in some countries have been rising because of increasing temperatures caused by air pollution which is a consequence of global warming. In this essay, I will look at some of the causes of this situation. I will then move on to consider what local authorities and relevant parties can do to address this problem effectively. It is clear that global warming is primarily caused by the increase in greenhouse gases in the atmosphere. These gases, such as carbon dioxide, methane and nitrous oxide, create a "greenhouse effect" that leads to a rise in Earth's average temperature. Moreover, deforestation also contributes to global warming because a great number of trees which absorb CO2 have decreased. Additionally, burning fossil fuels for electricity, transportation and factories does affect the environment. For example, cars, trucks, and aeroplanes that rely on gasoline and diesel are major sources of CO₂ emissions. Finally, consuming too much electricity for daily activities such as watching TV, lighting, and computers is also a key contributor. Related to solutions to address the current issues, governments can assist in several aspects. Firstly, renewable energy sources, such as solar, wind, and hydroelectric power should be encouraged to use instead of the current power. Secondly, the government must take measures to protect vulnerable forests, because they are the green lungs of nature that contribute to absorbing CO2 emissions. Lastly, the promotion of public transportation, cycling, and walking can reduce people’s reliance on fossil fuels. In conclusion, we can say that global warming is due to human activities. From my perspective, governments should combine different programmes such as renewable energy, managing the rainforests and effective transport solutions. If implemented globally, we can significantly mitigate the effects of global warming and help preserve the environment for future generations.