in recent year, there has been a rise in the popularity of second-hand clothing amongst the younger generation. why is this happening? dop you think it's positive or negative development

It is undeniable that nowadays second-hand clothes are increasingly used in high demand by the younger generation. The following paragraphs of this essay will discuss this trend’s causes and its influence on development. To begin with, the main reason why the young, especially young people who are still in school fancy purchasing old clothes is that its affordable price. That is because younger have really little pocket money for their study materials and other necessary things, so they usually tend to buy second-hand clothes, which allows them to buy clothes they like for half the money on new clothes. With the same size, form, colour or even fabric, old clothes are always much cheaper than the original ones. To do an example, my cousin is only a college student and part-time worker at a convenience store but she wants to get a Dior bag so she decided to buy passed ones from her friend. The surprising thing is that for only half the money she spends on a new purchase, she can own a bag that still looks new and clean. I believe that people buying second clothes is positive because it can help to reduce environmental issues such as water pollution. The fashion industry is one of the most polluting industries in the world since the chemicals used to make clothes are harmful to the environment, and many rivers have been polluted by sewage pouring into waterways. According to a study from statistics about 7,000 litres of water produce a pair of jeans or 2,700 litres of water for a shirt. Most of these products are made from synthetic materials, dyed non-biodegradable, chemicals that can leach into groundwater as well as nylon, and polyester... derived from oil. mines take hundreds of years to decompose. In conclusion, young generations prefer to shop for second-hand clothing due to its cost-effectiveness and I believe this practice would be very helpful to the environment