Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, children are spending more time on digital devices, such as a smartphone, tablets or computers. For this societal phenomenon, this essay will illustrate reasons why children spend numerous time using phones and discuss this situation whether is a negative development. This is the most convenient way to communicate for most children. Some young people like social contact, and yet they do not have much time to face to face discussions. Therefore, using chatting software from smartphones not only could contact others quickly but also the distance between each other is shortened. For distance, if a child wants to make friends, he could achieve it quickly by using the internet. Although, using smartphones could feel rested for most children, however, this is a negative development for children. This can be bad for children ’s health, especially sleep quality. If children spend much time on the Internet, it could make them hard to sleep, which makes children feel worn out and stressed. Additionally, more time online means less time in the real world. For example, children who are addicted to the virtual world from smartphones have less communication with their families. In conclusion, there are two main reasons to explain why time of children use smartphones more than pass. Firstly, it could satisfy children's emotional needs. Secondly, smartphones could communicate quickly via the Internet. Nevertheless, I strongly believe that this is a bad societal phenomenon and harmful to children.