In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

It is often argued whether it is a good idea to convey a positive attitude to children as if they can fulfil their dreams in the case of toil. Conveying this type of message to a child might have some benefits and drawbacks simultaneously, however, I believe its advantages are outweighed. The most obvious advantage is boosting children’s self-esteem. If parents or teachers as role models of a child always pushed that child toward working hard to meet the score they want in school or get a good rate on the entrance exam, that child would have faith in his talents and attempt so he can achieve their goals. One further merit of giving this message to children is that they become encouraged spontaneously to gain their aims therefore, they will not stop trying until fulfilling their goals. For example, the more a parent motivates their son in mathematical practice, which is his weakness, the more that child tries to overcome this lesson and get an excellent grade on the exam. Alongside increasing self-esteem and encouragement which are the advantages of this message, one great disadvantage is becoming disappointed in case of not fulfilling their need. In other words, a child who has been always told to toil in order to reach his purpose is prone to become depressed if they cannot be successful in reaching their goals in each walk of life. For instance, if a swimming coach always tells his student to jump into water and the child become fail, it is a possibility that this child become frightened of water and swimming for the rest of his life. In conclusion, giving a positive message to a child has some advantages and disadvantages. I believe the advantages which are developing self-confidence and being motivated can be the key indicators of real success in the future.