People hold the view that it is better to buy their home rather than rent it. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a common belief that buying a house is a better option than renting one. The writer agrees with the statement as buying a house will offer more freedom to the houseowner and it will be a good investment. It is vital to understand that owning your own home means that you will be in control which means that you do not need to deal with a landlord, be it minor repairs or a full renovation. Additionally, purchasing your own home will give you and your family a private space to relax and spend time together at the end of a long day at work coupled with the many stresses of modern society. For instance, recent statistics show that over 80% of Vietnamese are currently house owners and are reportedly content with their current accommodation. Another point worth mentioning is that a house is not only a place to live in but it is also an investment, property prices usually increase over the long term,especially in the competitive housing market of today, therefore it is vital to buy a house as a mean to enhance your wealth over time. Furthermore, Delaying your house purchase will mean that you have to spend more money on housing, which could also cause you to spend more money on rent as you try to acquire sufficient funds. To illustrate, the average price for landed property in Vietnam rose 30% in the years following the COVID-19 pandemic. In conclusion, the freedom and the financial benefits that a house provides are justifiable reasons why owning a home is preferable to renting one. Therefore, it should have been demonstrated that buying a house is better than renting one.