In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

People who choose to enrol in work-based training are more than the ones who prefer to attend university nowadays. I believe there are some advantages of this trend such as time-saving and easier learning as well as disadvantages like choosing unsuitable jobs or missing the chance of deeper education. In the following essay, I will discuss both the advantages and the disadvantages of this trend and I will elaborate on reasons why I think the advantages vastly outweigh the advantages. To begin with the advantages, I opine people choose the on-job-training as they find it easier and quicker than university education. In addition to that, it is way cheaper than a university. For example, getting training from a college in a specific field will require maybe 4 or more years, and you will have to pay for it. Therefore, people might think vocational training is a time and money-saver. Furthermore, it might make people more comfortable thinking that they are just a trainee and do not have many responsibilities. On the other hand, I believe work-based training has several disadvantages. First of all, entering a new job without receiving the relevant training might cause frustration for people as they might not be able to find what they expected. Hence, I believe universities help young people find their abilities and what are they good at. For instance, receiving tertiary education in a specific subject for years might help people to realize they have not got any interest in that field. Furthermore, this education also makes people more experienced and self-confident as they will receive deeper training. Thus, when they decide to start their careers they can earn more money and impart their knowledge to others. Therefore, even though preferring work-based training seems like a time and money-saver it eventually will lead to less money and poorly qualified generations in the workplace. In conclusion, there are a few merits of on-the-job training like easier education and fewer responsibilities in the workplace while there are several demerits like regretting when it is too late and lack of development. In my experience, I am a person who had a university education related to her occupation. Due to my university experience, I am able to think further about the details and analyse data. Therefore, I opine the disadvantages of this trend vastly outweigh the advantages.