Art classes, like painting and drawing are as important as other subjects, so they should be compulsory subject in high school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, many people believe that art classes play a pivotal role in children’s growth, therefore, it must be taught in high schools. The writer partly disagrees with this statement because of several reasons which will be explained in this essay. On the one hand, it must be acknowledged that art would contribute to the child’s mental development. There is no doubt that people could express all their emotions and personality through these paintings or drawings. Moreover, people would have a wider observation of the background contained in these pieces, so they will easily identify with the artists about the emotional situation. Therefore, these types of art would significantly boost children’s development and other skills namely creativity, intelligence and independence. As a result, applying to many classes could help young generations become more and more sympathetic to others, especially to families with the difficult backgrounds. However, I am skeptical about applying art as an important subject in senior high school. This is because not every student would not find the art contained in these paintings to be amazing and appealing to their mind. Thus, it is the main cause of many pranks during the period, which mainly arise from the boredom and stress of these students. Furthermore, some students, for instance, do not have the ability to draw, so they would get into trouble with achieving a high score. For these reasons, it is understandable that applying art as a compulsory subject as others would impact development due to its ineffective. In conclusion, there is an advantage of enhancing children’s emotions in order to face emotional circumstances, but I argue that it would negatively affect students, particularly is who are not good at this subject, during this period.