Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you thing this is a positive or a negative development?

When people get sick, some of them choose alternative medicines and treatments over visiting their health doctors, and this is becoming a popular trend. In my opinion, although there are some diseases that can be treated with alternative medicines, it does not mean that people should stop visiting their doctors. It is true that some sicknesses can be treated at home, and without a supervision of a health care specialist. I believe that the most common diseases are the easiest ones to treat. For example, if a person catches a cold, he will be better by consuming a considerable amount of Vitamin C and drinking herbal tea. This is true about other common diseases like the flu as well. Furthermore, some health -related problems are caused by the mental health condition of a person. As a result, non-medical treatments might work even better. For instance, it is common knowledge that anxiety disorder can cause a variety of health problems, such as chronic headaches. It is obvious that in order to feel better, the person struggling with that should practice meditation or take other mind-related actions, and in that case, taking traditional painkillers is not efficient. On the other hand, I argue that the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages of that. The well-being of our body is a crucial matter, so we need to be aware of all the risks we are taking by not visiting our doctors when we feel sick. Firstly, there is no way other than visiting a healthcare professional for getting diagnosed with dangerous diseases, such as cancer. If you are feeling unwell, the primary step should be to have your body checked-up in order to make sure that it is not a serious problem which threatens your life. Secondly, most people are not knowledgeable enough to determine the right treatment without being supervised by a specialist. As a result, they might choose an alternative medicine which exacerbates their problem. To conclude, it is true that there are some diseases which can be treated without taking regular medications or going to a hospital. However, I restate that we should be aware that most of the time, we need a specialist to make sure we are not in a dangerous situation, and that we do not worsen our health -related problems by our lack of knowledge.